The hardest and saddest obstacle that new metal bands needs to overcome

It’s been a while since the last post, and I think is time to write something new. Honestly I’m not in the mood to write something related to any new band, album or any metal sub-genre in specific. Also I want to let you know, that what I’m going to write here is nothing new, and it came to me some weeks ago, and has been regurgitating in my mind since then.

A couple of weeks ago Kevin Lyman, the co-founder of the Mayhem Rock Festival, told to Detroit Free Press that the tour was “at risk of going away at any given moment” due to the limited number of headline-worthy acts in metal. After this, Kerry King the founder of the legendary band Slayer provided a series of responses to Lyman, and the lineup of the festival. One of the things that Kerry said (well, actually he cited to Gary Holt) is the following: “…usually there’s the Main Stage, a second stage, a third stage, and then that piece-of-shit record stage… Now what they’re calling a second stage is at best a fourth stage and they’re wondering why people aren’t showing up”.

It seems that now, the festival is finally done, and it was the very last edition. Is not my interest discover the reasons of why the festival is finished now. My concerns here is related towards on what Kerry said regarding the second stage (Victory Stage) bands. I agree with Kerry in the fact that for this edition there wasn’t many big names as someone could expect, and that the audience could be affected because of that, but I just can’t deal with the fact of He calling a piece of shit stage, to the only stage that in fact, is the one that promote the emergent bands.

So, as many of you already know, try to live from what you really love, is never easy, and for the people whose passion is the metal music (black metal, death metal, metal core, etc.) this is not exception. Nowadays, is quite different from what it used to be, mainly because of the internet culture and social networks, because there’s a bunch of new bands out there trying to get attention via youtube, facebook, etc. So figure it, it won’t be easy, cheap and simple as could be in any other moment, so having this in mind, what is the last thing that you don’t really need? Well, that my friends, are negative comments from people who are already in the top of their careers, why? Because there is a big fandom behind of them, and if they said that new bands are bullshit or a piece of shit, well, at least the people inside that fandom, won’t have any interest in discover any new band, at least the media actually promote it.

I used to play in my own band, and we used to write our songs, and I totally understand how frustrating it can be try to live from your music. We never try for real, because we just hadn’t the energy and passion to focus on that, and we decided to take the easy path, finish our studies and get a job. When I take a look back, and see the other people that still trying to get something, I always have the same feeling to start a new band, but now, is quite late, and difficult, so I drop the idea easily. For me, is easy I just can leave it and that is it, but I don’t even can imagine how annoying it should be, that some are trying to make it, and at some point, this stupid big fucking legend of metal, starts to spit crap towards new bands just because they aren’t getting enough money, and the business is not as well as it should be, it just fucking sucks.

I don’t have a final conclusion honestly, I’m angry and disappointed, but I’m glad to know that on the other hand there a few known names on metal scene, that actually are working on promote new bands, such as Phil Anselmo and Anders Fridén, to mention some.

If you are in a band, and you are pretty sure that this is your passion, don’t let those people let you down, and also don’t feel bad, if you do this (play in a band) on your “free” time, share your art, this is what we need instead of big fucking metal albums, that’s for Justin Bieber’s fans, we are heavy metal fans damn it.

I hope you have enjoyed this entry, and please let me know your thoughts here and on my social networks such Facebook.

Peace and see you next time around!!!….

Leave a Reply

