Abigail Williams – The Accuser

As many of you may know, my first entry on this blog, was an old review that I wrote regarding Becoming album from Philadelphia based black metal band, Abigail Williams. Today I’m here to give my review about their last effort entitled The Accuser.

Honestly, this year, has been very weak regarding new albums, with some exceptions of course, but the true, is that, nothing transcendental is out there right now. Although, this year was expecting to close, safely, with no more disturbs, suddenly, it came, like thief in the night, this killer album, to dismember everything, leaving a blood feast of destruction and pain.

The album is amazing guys, but not in the classic sense of the word, I mean, is amazing as any of the Lovecraft stories, were amazing; the album is dark, melancholy, extreme, powerful, and very raw and yet, it has a subtle beauty on it. The art work, is an amazing piece of art that describe properly the content of the album. I realized that honestly, I don’t like to write a review by describing each song on the album, I think it doesn’t bring anything important, instead, I would try describe how it sounds, and what kind of influences you may find here and there.

The band departs from their post black metal and symphonic predominant sound on the last effort, and instead of that, experiment with a more Darkthronesque sound, although the post black metal vibe is still present, but not as the blast beats and the aggressive Ken’s voice. It’s in my opinion their more guitar oriented album, with great guitar melodies and solos. The sound of the guitar is very raw, almost as the one used in the 80’s hardcore punk scene.

Even when there are no string passages as on their previous records, the ambient on each of the songs is just amazing, and this is because of the production, which is very raw and yet very melancholic (listen “Will, Wish and Desire” song to understand my point). The sound of the drums on this album is just killer, you can notice that they definitely do not use any kind of drum machine on their records, everything here is very natural and passionate.

I don’t really like to point out songs on here, but I have to say that “Path of Broken Glass”, “The Cold Lines”, “Will, Wish and Desire” and “Nuummite” are in my opinion highlight, although, the album in general is just amazing.

On my last Abigail Williams entry, I asked myself if Becoming was the best black metal album since the Nordic scene from the 90’s, well, I can say now, that definitely is not, because, believe me guys, The Accuser, is the one that can without any doubt take that place, but that is just my opinion isn’t?

Please leave your thoughts on the box comment, or on my Facebook wall, I will glad to read them.

See you next time around!

PS
Hare are some of the band official links:

https://candlelightrecordsusa.bandcamp.com/album/the-accuser

https://www.facebook.com/abigailwilliamsofficial

Leave a Reply

